Seplat Energy announces resignation of Board Chairman

Seplat Energy Plc has announced that its co-founder and pioneer Chairman, Dr. A.B.C. Orjiako has decided to step down as Chairman and from the Board of Directors of Seplat Energy Plc at the next Annual General Meeting (AGM) in May 2022. In order to ensure an orderly transition, Dr A.B.C. Orjiako will remain the Chairman of Seplat Energy until the AGM, when he will be succeeded by an Independent Chairperson in line with Seplat Energy’s succession plan.

As Chairman of the Group since 2009, Dr. Orjiako has led the transformation of Seplat into a globally respected energy Company. Notable achievements include instilling best practice corporate governance, and significant growth through several successful acquisitions. He was also the driving force behind Seplat Energy becoming the first and only Nigerian corporate to dual list on the Nigerian Exchange and the Main Board of the London Stock Exchange in 2014.

The Board thanks its Chairman for his strategic vision, drive and limitless energy to create and Chair the Board of Nigeria’s leading Indigenous Independent Energy Company.

Dr. A.B.C. Orjiako, the outgoing Chairman of Seplat Energy Plc, stated thus:

“The past twelve years of Seplat Energy’s existence have been phenomenal for me. As Chairman, I am proud that the Board, Management and entire Staff of Seplat Energy, were able to achieve several enviable milestones and exceptional successes, notably the acquisition of eight oil and gas assets, expansion of the Oben and development of the ANOH gas plants and the dual listing on both the Nigerian and London Stock Exchanges, a first by a Nigerian company. While there were challenges along the way, we overcame these by the special grace of God, the outstanding performance and professionalism of each member of the Board and Management and the sterling efforts of our Staff. I will continue to give my utmost energy and commitment to the Company until I step down from the Board at the next AGM.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *